miniupnp.tuxfamily.org Forum Index miniupnp.tuxfamily.org
The forum about miniupnp and libnatpmp
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Router modem combination (newbie)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    miniupnp.tuxfamily.org Forum Index -> miniupnpd Compilation/Installation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stuffe



Joined: 27 Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:31 pm    Post subject: Router modem combination (newbie) Reply with quote

I am very much a newbie when it comes to this networking stuff, so this question might be very dumb, but I simply haven't found the answer anywhere.

I am able to open ports on my local router with this great miniupnp tool, but the external IP it returns seems to be the one my modem is giving my router. I can use this external IP port combination to connect back to my machine once the port has been opened, but I can't use it with my "outside"/internet ip. Is there a way to "chain" these upnp commands so I can open up my modem, or how are you supposed to get through there?

Example:
Code:

C:\Users\Stuffe>C:\Users\Stuffe\Desktop\upnp\upnpc-shared.exe -a 10.0.0.25 80 80
 TCP
upnpc : miniupnpc library test client. (c) 2005-2014 Thomas Bernard
Go to http://miniupnp.free.fr/ or http://miniupnp.tuxfamily.org/
for more information.
List of UPNP devices found on the network :
 desc: http://10.0.0.1:5000/Public_UPNP_gatedesc.xml
 st: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:InternetGatewayDevice:1

Found valid IGD : http://10.0.0.1:5000/Public_UPNP_C3
Local LAN ip address : 10.0.0.25
ExternalIPAddress = 192.168.1.11
InternalIP:Port = 10.0.0.25:80
external 192.168.1.11:80 TCP is redirected to internal 10.0.0.25:80 (duration=0)


Now I can use 192.168.1.11:80, but not my "internet ip"[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miniupnp
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like you are in a NAT over NAT setup. UPnP is NOT designed to work in such setup.
Why are you using 2 routers ?

I guess you ADSL/cable modem is including a router.
1) Either remove the 2nd router from your network and connect your computers directly to your modem/router
2) or configure your modem/router in "bridge" mode to remove the router function, so you can add your additional router.
_________________
Main miniUPnP author.
http://miniupnp.tuxfamily.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stuffe



Joined: 27 Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

miniupnp wrote:
It looks like you are in a NAT over NAT setup. UPnP is NOT designed to work in such setup.
Why are you using 2 routers ?

I guess you ADSL/cable modem is including a router.
1) Either remove the 2nd router from your network and connect your computers directly to your modem/router
2) or configure your modem/router in "bridge" mode to remove the router function, so you can add your additional router.


Alright thank you miniupnp.
Do you happen to know roughly how many % of internet users out there are on a similiar configuration where they can't use UPNP directly? Im developing some hobby software, thats why Im asking Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn



Joined: 23 May 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2015 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have a cable modem connected to an separate firewall device, which then connects the rest of the LAN here to the internet. What's the easiest way to determine whether one has a NAT over NAT setup?

Thanks,

Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miniupnp
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 1391

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasn wrote:
We have a cable modem connected to an separate firewall device, which then connects the rest of the LAN here to the internet. What's the easiest way to determine whether one has a NAT over NAT setup?

Thanks,

Jason

you'll know thanks to the subnet addresses use (RFC1918)
_________________
Main miniUPnP author.
http://miniupnp.tuxfamily.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    miniupnp.tuxfamily.org Forum Index -> miniupnpd Compilation/Installation All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
© 2007 Thomas Bernard, author of MiniUPNP.